Tags

, ,

The first 21 years of my life I thought Campbell’s was brilliant.  Soup in a can was pretty awesome, but the soup to go? How convenient!

In my wise age of 22-years-old, I realized the convenience was plagued with chemicals and ingredients I couldn’t  even pronounce.  At 23, I decided to take on the world of homemade soup. Plus, cooking over a large pot on a drizzly Saturday morning couldn’t really get any better, right?

DSC04482
Simple ingredients:
Butternut squash from the local food bank farm
5 small apples from your boyfriend’s granddad’s farm
Half a week old onion
1 T. Olive Oil (coconut oil would be great, too!)
Precious Garam Masala
2 chicken bouillon cubes (in a perfect world, this would be organic vegetable broth)
2 cups water

First, I roasted the butternut squash, which is cut in half, de-seeded, faced down on a cookie sheet, and standing in water.  Roast at 450* until brownish and tender.  I think this took 35 minutes or so.

DSC04506

While the squash is roasting, sauté chopped apple and onion in a large pot.  I’m not sure I’ve ever used this pot before (remember I was a Campbell’s girl for 21 years!).  It made me feel really Ina Garten-like.

DSC04508

While the apple and onion are getting friendly in the pot, check on the
butternut. 
DSC04504

It should be roasted and ready.  If it’s not, shame on you.  Plan accordingly.

I am without photos of preparing the butternut squash.  Things to remember:

1. Let it cool ( I did not)
2. The skin should be easy to peel off (not if it’s hot)

I sliced my peeled squash and threw it in with the apples and onions.  Then I added these guys.

DSC04502

Bouillon + 2 cups of water + 1 t. Garam Masala, then simmer for 10 minutes.

Transfer chunky parts of soup to blender with a ladle.  A little bit of the broth is good to use to.

Blend until desired consistency and pour back into pot.

Now for the ultimate taste test.  Of course I added more Garam Masala.

DSC04511 
Butternut Squash Apple Soup served with a grilled cheese + jelly.

DSC04519
It’s really as good as it looks.

DSC04515
I added some almonds for a crunch.

This soup is what Campbell’s is not: thick, velvety, and spicy with an Indian twist.  I’m definitely a fan.

