Tags

, , , ,

Tonight I filmed Chopped: Lubbock. 

In my head, of course.

Mystery ingredients:
Cooked Lentils
Zucchini
Squash
Carrots
Chili Powder

Okay, so it wasn’t that hard to figure out what to make, but I crafted dinner pretty easily with limited produce in my refrigerator.  This recipe shows taking many nothings and creating a scrumptious something.

Sweet Lentil Chili
Serves 4

DSC04673

 DSC04641
Vegetables:
1/2 cup leftover squash
Large zucchini, chopped into large chunks
3 carrots, chopped (Yes, four are pictured, but I didn’t want to turn orange, so I put one back.  And, no, I didn’t peel them – so rebellious.)

DSC04642 
2 cups cooked lentils (previously cooked, frozen and defrosted) (the best thing ever)

DSC04643 
Broth of your choice and spices.

DSC04649 
Heat 2 t. olive oil in a large pot and add vegetables, cooking a few minutes.  Next add 1/3 cup broth, turn heat to high, and cover pot with lid.  Mock pressure cooker status Simmer vegetables in liquid for 7 minutes, or until brightly colored and steamed.

Add lentils.  Gosh that was easy.

Spice time!

DSC04662 
1 1/2 T Chili Powder

DSC04663
1 t Cumin 

DSC04664 
1/2 t Cayenne

DSC04665 
It was missing something, so I added about 1/4 t. Garam Masala.  This is the sweet in the Sweet Lentil Chili.

Simmer on low for 5 minutes.

DSC04681 
At 30 minutes, I threw my hands in the air and declared victory.  Really, I think you could recreate this in 20 minutes and give Rachael Ray a run for her money. 

But first, freeze some lentils.

