Tags

I attribute my adventurous palette to my grandmother.  You’re bound to get used to strange eats as a 10-year-old when someone serves you fried Spam and pimento cheese on a daily basis.  Of course, this was completely normal to my 10-year-old self, and I probably wouldn’t complain if it was served to me today.

Fried Spam is just that good.  You know you love it.

Other strange food my MawMaw taught me to enjoy:

Mushy, Sweet Cornbread.

I’ve heard this is a Southern thing, but I’m not so sure.

I really think it’s a “add sugar to anything and Kendall will eat it thing.”

But, I digress.

035

First, your Grandma crumbles up a couple-of-days-old cornbread in a glass.

036

And you’re magically transported back to 1955 with a spoonful of sugar ready to go.

037

Sugar down the hatch.

038

040

Milk, you say?  At least it’s nonfat, right?

041

I enjoyed this in 2010 on a dreary November afternoon.  My MawMaw would’ve been sweetly and mushily proud.  This cornbread and milk dish drink sludge is a cross between cold bread pudding and cereal. I just like it because it makes me feel like I’m 10 again and I can just be a silly kid and experiment in my MawMaw’s kitchen all day, microwaving strange ingredients and stinking up the house.

Let’s just be glad I’m not featuring crazy microwave experiments on this blog.

