Tags

, , , ,

Snow day

Right after I got up this morning I took a look out my front window and, much to my surprise, everything was white! I knew it was suppose to snow today, but I had no clue we were going to wake up with snow on the ground. Nice surprise until I realized I didn’t park my car in the garage. Fail.

There was no ice to be found on my windshield, though.  Just about 3 inches of snow.  I went ahead and sprayed all car glass with de-icer.  Apparently I’m entertained at 7:40 a.m. by watching snow magically melt. 

Awesome moment at work.

DSC03007

Delicious x2.

Strawberries were priced at $7.99 a lb at United yesterday.  Are you kidding me?  Strawberries aren’t even in “season,” so I feel bad purchasing them anyway.  Usually priced at $4.99 a lb, these strawberries were special because they were “long-stemmed.” Oh Valentine’s Day – how ridiculous you are.  I really do love Valentine’s, though – I love all holidays.

After the gym [treadmill + elliptical for 30 minutes and Fitnessista super-sets] I really wasn’t inspired to cook, but after a few minutes of thinking about what I really wanted to eat, all that could come to mind were corn cakes.  Random – I know.

My MawMaw would make corn cakes when I begged her too.   I stayed with them a ton growing up, so I was constantly around their lunch table.  Along with fried potatoes and canned fruit salad, corn cakes remind me of good home cooking with my MawMaw’s personal twist.  Warm and gooey, these are perfect on a cold night, and I even added in some canned salmon for a twist [I must get it from her].

Salmon Corn Cakes
1 Can Cream Corn
1 6 oz. Can Salmon
1 cup All-Purpose Flour
1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
3 tsp baking power
.5 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
1 egg
1 1/4 cups fat-free milk
butter

Mix dry ingredients together, then add wet ingredients and mix.
Heat large skillet on medium-high.  For each batch, cook in about 2 tsp. butter.
Add batter into skillet as you would pancakes.  Wait until bubbles appear on the surface and then flip.  Cooking time about 8 minutes per batch.

DSC03015

DSC03016

DSC03017

DSC03019

[crackberry don’t you creep on my photo]

The salmon corn cakes weren’t perfect in the end.  There were still really gooey on the inside, so I place them on a foil-lined cookie sheet and stuck them in the oven at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. Much better now.

The salmon also didn’t go that far, so if you want more of a salmon taste, I would suggest adding double the amount.

DSC03020

I set mine on a bed of spinach and devoured.  Amazing. 

I’m currently watching Survivor.  A broken toe and dislocated shoulder in the first 30 minutes?  I thought I said we were getting rid of violent TV for a few months…

How do you feel about Valentine’s Day?  Do you think it was bloomed into a huge holiday as a money-making ploy by Hallmark and flower shops, or do you appreciate stopping to tell someone how much you care for at least one day of the year?

I think it’s awesome.  Although Hallmark makes a ton of money. As do flower shops.  But, so goes life.

PS – LOVE Windows Live Writer.

