Tags

I was out of my food element at lunch today.

I had duck for the first time – In  quesadilla form!

067

I went with a work group to Home Cafe.  It was so busy, but it’s such a cute, homey place.  All of the tables are different, like they were all randomly bought at garage sales – they even have a long church pew with multiple tables set up.

I ordered the International Special

House-smoked chicken and duck quesadillas on garlic herb tortillas and filled with smoked duck, oven roasted chicken, roasted crimini and button mushrooms, scallions, fresh chevre, mozzarella and provolone served with a cup of soup. 

Except I nixed the soup and got a side salad instead.

068 
It was very tasty! I’m not a huge gamey-meat person though, so after my first quesadilla, the meat really started to taste different to me.  I’m glad I tried it though – that’s what it’s all about!

You put your left foot in…you put your left foot out…

Wait…where was I?

Dinner tonight – needed to use an acorn squash that was tired of hanging out in the veggie bowl.

I sliced him in half lengthwise, roasted at 400* for an hour, and got busy making a stuffer.

Spicy Lentils
1/2 cup dry lentils
1/2 veggie broth
1/4 water
Dash of:
Cumin
Cayenne
Garlic Powder
Onion Powder
Salt

Simmer, covered, for 20 minutes.

Put together – Spicy Lentil Stuffed Squash with every last bit of hummus I can get out of the container.

DSC03093
This was a really quick dinner! Which was good because I have 4 loads of laundry and 4 episodes of Keeping up with the Kardashians to catch up on…

On a side note.  My house alarm just went off for the first time ever – I’ve only heard what the thing sounds like when they were setting it up.  What caused this to happen?

My cat knocked over a knick-knack on my bookshelf, which made a very loud noise. 

Oh, Milo….you keep it interesting…

DSC03089

Have you ever tried duck? What is your take on it?  Do you like any other non-mainstream meats?
My dad loves to hunt birds, so he would occasionally bring home pheasant for us to eat.  He doesn’t like the gamey taste either, but he would try to mask it by soaking the meat in milk for a day before we fried it…tastes like chicken.

