Tags

, ,

Tonight I made something wonderful, not only that, but I actually used local grass-fed beef!

DSC03106
Paidom Meats is a farm about 75 miles north of Lubbock.  They sell their meats at local health food stores and also make home deliveries each month.

From their Web site: In 1994, we moved away from conventional farming practices and have since striven to grow and market beef, lamb, goat, pork, chicken, and eggs that are raised in an ecologically accountable manner.  This land must sustain not only our family, but those of the future, so our meats are actually a by-product of sound land management.  Not only do we aim for meats that taste good, but that are also nutritionally superior.  You see, our meats possess three critical attributes that are not required by most organic certification agencies — if you don’t believe us, check out their criteria and see if they meet those that follow.  Because our meats exceed most organic requirements, we like to say that they are "beyond organic."

Their “beyond organic” meat is free of all drugs, grown exclusively on a pasture and source-verified.

Without any nutritional label on the product, I was worried about the fat content of the ground beef.  The fat actually cooked out very well, and if I had to guess, I would say that the meat was the 96/4 fat ratio.

It was priced at $6.60/lb at the Natural Food Market, but would be cheaper if purchased directly from the farm.

It was a great addition to the Lasagna-Style Baked Ziti.

DSC03112
I couldn’t decide how much penne I wanted to add.  The box confused me.

DSC03107 Nutritional Info Says – 7 servings per box.

DSC03109 Cooking Directions Say – 4 portions per box.

So…I added the entire box, which bulked it up.  This is a good thing because I have a “growing” boy who lives with me and is constantly hungry, and I always feel bad when I don’t serve large enough portions.  These are XXL portions. Score.

Ronzoni Healthy Harvest Pasta: Thank you for the pleasure of staring at your box of penne pasta for a good two minutes trying to figure out the “right” portion size.  This does not help America. 

If you were wondering…the penne was perfect.  I love all-together casserole type dishes.

Do you buy local meats?  After watching Food, Inc. I promised myself that I would make my best effort to buy locally.  Sometimes it’s not possible because I am so limited in West Texas, but I do the best with what I’ve got.

DSC00767

Happy Texas Independence Day!

