Tags

, , ,

After a weekend out of town visiting family, my life is finally settling down again. Between too much birthday cake (I of course had a small slice with each meal Saturday night – Sunday morning)  and not a lot of time for exercise, I immediately wanted to get back on a healthy schedule yesterday.  But this new pantry find didn’t help.

DSC03130 
Yes, you read that correctly.  Sugar is the first ingredient on the list.  Before popcorn.  Scary.

DSC03132 
This popcorn is awesome.  It was hiding in my pantry (I think someone gave it to us a few months back), and I found it Sunday night when we got back into town.  Must practice moderation when sugar is the first ingredient on the list. 🙂

In my last post, I announced that Nick and I will be taking a vacation in the middle of April.  Because I will be on the beach for 4.5 days, I’ve decided to jumpstart some health goals to feel my best.  These are health-related tools that I take for granted.  I really want to focus on one per week for the next six weeks.

Week One – Water Consumption

I definitely don’t get straight A’s in the water department.  I usually get enough fluids during the day, but I don’t drink enough plain water.  I love coffee, juice, tea and Diet Dr. Pepper, but in the afternoon especially, I don’t get the water I should.  I will be working on upping my water intake this week.

Today, I’m happy to report that I had probably double the amount of water that I usually do.  I have a large 32 oz. water bottle with a straw spout that set at my desk all day.  The upped water consumption is all in the straw.  For some reason, I drink a lot more and a lot faster through a straw.  Whatever works!

I was lacking in motivation to cook anything for dinner, so I turned to my inspiration – Google Reader.  Heather inspired me to make roasted sweet potatoes with salsafied kidney beans.

DSC03124 
I roasted the sweet potatoes coated in a mixture of maple syrup, a touch of olive oil, chili pepper and salt.

My latest dinner drink obsession – 1 Part Black Cherry Goji Juice to 3 Parts Lime Soda Water.

For dessert —

DSC03125
Coconut Chocolate Chip Baked Oatmeal with a side of the Census
1/4 oats
1/4 almond milk
1/4 tps baking powder
1 tbsp coconut
chocolate chips (which are hiding on the bottom)

So good!

Do you think you drink enough water?  Have any tips for me?

