Tags

, ,

Tonight, Nick was out watching the Tech basketball game, so I was left alone to experiment in the kitchen.  I wanted something protein-heavy, but didn’t feel like running to the store to grab meat.  Lentils to the rescue.

DSC03165
Spicy Lentil & Guacamole Burrito with Kale Chips

For the lentils, I threw these ingredients into one pot. [This makes 6 servings, or 3 cups of lentils).
– 1.5 cups rinsed lentils
– 1 cup vegetable broth
– 1.5 cups water
– dash of the following: onion powder, garlic powder, chili pepper, bigger dash of cumin, and a few twists of the salt grinder.

Heat until boiling and then simmer, covered for about 25 minutes, or until all liquid is absorbed.

Guacamole [Four servings]
1 medium avocado
4 tbsp chopped  white onion (cut this down if you don’t love raw onion)
1 small diced tomato with core removed (the seeds and inside junk gross me out)
Worcestershire to taste (maybe 1.5 tsp?)

Kale Chips – My New Obsession [As many servings as you can handle. :)]
Wash and devein one bunch of kale.  To devein, simply hold the stem of the leaf with one hand and run your other hand down the base of the vein.  The leaves detach with the tiniest bit of nudging.

I made about 2/3 of the bunch into chips.  After you have the leaves ready to go, toss in a bowl with 1 tsp. olive oil, a little salt and pepper, and any other spice you want.  I was running with a spicy theme, so I threw a dash of chili pepper into the mix.

Then bake the kale on a cookie sheet (I always line with foil – easy clean up) at 400* for 15 minutes or until slightly browned.

I loved this dinner!  The lentils had a spicy depth to them, which went well with the cool, but crunchy guacamole.  I wish I had some wheat tortillas around, but my pictured flour tortilla was mighty tasty.  After I took my dinners’ glamour shot, I added a big dollop of ketchup to dip the kale chips in.  This is a great way to eat veggies!  I don’t know where I first saw this in the food blog world, but whoever came up with the idea – genius.  The kale melts in your mouth!  It’s crunchy with a deep green flavor, but not overly powerful like raw greens can be.  Try this if you haven’t!  [Can you tell I’m exited about kale chips – woah exclamation points.]

Nick just texted something about drowning his basketball sorrows at the bar (yes, we are now out of basketball and onto baseball)…kale chip consumption convincing to begin when he gets home.  If he doesn’t like them, it will be like me not liking hunting or golden tee…wait..we’ll stop there. 🙂

Something interesting – Did you know the recently signed into law healthcare bill contains wording that will require all restaurants with more than 20 locations to post the calorie count of items on menus and drive-thru order menus?  From reading the actual text of the bill, I gathered than an action plan has to be put together by the government in a year, but I’m not sure about the restaurant time-frame. 

This is a step in the healthy direction for our country, but will this really help?  Posting the calories of fast-food salads may confuse patrons.  The cheese, croutons, bacon and cream dressing on salads will make the chicken nuggets or single-patty burger seem like the healthier choice, because I’m pretty sure the latter’s calories are fewer. 

Personally, I think just posting calorie information is an empty guideline.  What if with each menu item an F, P and C were listed with a number beside them, for fat, protein and carbohydrate.  With calorie count still included, this would give the guest a better opportunity to correctly assess the information trying to be conveyed.  This might help people make healthier choices, although I think some people won’t care about the numbers.    

Do you think calories tell all in food choices?

