Tags

,

I returned from vacation this past Sunday, yet six days later, I’m still in vacation-mode.

This goes for food, workouts and anything productive.  I’m still thinking that it’s okay to order a fruity drink at every meal or enjoy a Corona after my 15 minute laughing/being thrown around by the waves workout.  Don’t worry – I, of course, repeated the workout every 2 hours or so.  Maybe repeated the Corona, too.

I also want someone to cook every meal for me. And I would like dessert after every said meal. Can I also wear my bathing suit everywhere and read by candle light after the electricity goes out at 11 p.m.?

The 3 p.m. siesta took its toll every day this week.  Sitting at my computer, I would close my eyes and hear the ocean.

Y’all, I just took my Passport out of my purse yesterday. 

I’m in denial.

So I’m not in Mexico, but I am back to real life.

If you can call real life finally unpacking a suitcase full of sand and sorting through the seven checked-out library books that I AM going to finish before their due date. (wishful hoping).

I did create one spectacular dish this week.  I randomly bought thin cut round steak at the grocery store on my “we have nothing in the fridge” trip.  I toy with calling myself vegetarian, but I here I go buying steak.  I’m blaming this one on Nick.

Upon purchase, I imagined creating some sort of Chinese steak spicy/sweet Mongolian-like dish.

After ten minutes of recipe researching, I decided to just use what was available in the kitchen, say a prayer and hope it turned out.

DSC03400 
For my Mongolian beef, served on brown rice with a side of broccoli:

  • 1 lb thinly-sliced round steak
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tps garlic
  • .5 tbsp Szechuan sauce
  • 1.5 tbsp brown sugar

First, trim the fat off of steak and cut into pieces. Coat the pieces in the flour.  Add soy sauce and olive oil to pan (I used a wok) and allow to heat.  Add garlic.  Saute until slightly brown.  Add brown sugar and szechuan – cook for 30 seconds.  Add meat.  Stir-fry until slightly crispy – probably 8 minutes on medium high.

This is probably one of my favorite meals.  It was very quick and easy and tasted so good, which is key with me.  If I have to prepare the food for too long, I just get sick of looking at it and suddenly when I sit down to eat, it just doesn’t look good.  Back to the beef – It’s not overly saucy like you might find at your local Chinese restaurant, but good enough to enjoy every slightly crunchy bite (even if you are toying with calling yourself a vegetarian.)

Today I drove 3.5 hours total to fetch this little one, who only stops singing along (read: meowing at a very high pitch) if I turn the music up and sing to her.

DSC03407 
My wonderful parents kept the stinker through my vacation.  Now that she’s home, I feel at home.

Also, I had a wonderful breakfast.  Jenna, this one’s for you.

DSC03403 
Cinnamon-raisin bagel + cream cheese + unpictured blackberry jam + tall nonfat amaretto latte.  It felt like a vacation.

