Tags

, , , ,

I have a confession.

I love written works about food:  magazines, books, grocery store flyers, newsletters, cookbooks and of course – blogs.

I have a constant stack of recipes waiting to be read and tested.  Tonight while relaxing after yoga, I picked up a nationally-syndicated newspaper foodie insert called “Relish,” only to have the clouds part.  I love when I have almost everything a new recipe calls for on hand.  Even better when it’s a vegetable I’m trying to use in a new way.

Dinner – first course -  was created.

DSC03544

Cucumbers with Oregano, Feta and Pine Nuts
From Outstanding in the Field: A Farm to Table Cookbook, featured in Relish
My adaptations

1 shallot, minced [2 T. onion, minced]
1/4 cup red wine vinegar [ Used 2 T.]
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil [I used maybe 1.5 T.]
1/4 t. salt
8 lemon cucumbers, peeled, seeded and slice [I had 1.5 cucumbers that I only seeded and sliced…I like some extra fiber!]
3 springs fresh oregano [dash of dried basil]
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese [Used 2 T.]
1/2 cup pine nuts, toasted [omitted]
coarsely ground black pepper [ also omitted because I didn’t read far enough – was very excited to eat!]

Combine onion and vinegar in a small bowl.  Let stand 10 minutes.  Add olive oil and salt, whisking well.  Pour vinaigrette over cucumbers and toss well.  Sprinkle with basil and feta.

So I purchased cucumbers because they aren’t one of my top ten vegetables, which is okay, because I understand that all veggies can’t be in the top ten.  This recipe would be great to try if you’re in the same situation!  The crispness of the vinegar, coupled with the creamy feta…so refreshing! 

Dinner – second course – was red beans.  No photo because they just weren’t looking that photogenic.

Other eats include:

A top ten vegetable – spinach.  Specifically in smoothie form.

DSC03540
With a side of PB + J Oatmeal. 

I love raw spinach, but despise cooked spinach – Cooked leafy greens, really.

My top ten vegetables:
Spinach
Sweet Potatoes
Zucchini
Squash
Tomatoes
Peppers
Green beans
Okra
Potatoes
Romaine

What veggies do you love that aren’t on my list?

