Tags

,

NuVal was recently launched in small town Lubbock at United Supermarkets.  This is a big step, people.  When the most memorable “concert” moment is a Britney Spears power outage in 2002, you know your town doesn’t get much action.

But I’m not here to talk about BSpears.  I’m here to talk about my NuVal moment.

It was totally an A-HA moment.  Let’s go back to that day.

Picture:  Straight-from-the-gym, 20-something, dragging-butt-after-a-long-day girl who spends too much time comparing nutritional stats down the aisles of the grocery store.

I was on a yogurt, veggie and bread mission.  When I got to the yogurt section, I knew what I wanted.  I had been purchasing the larger tub of yogurt because it was more practical than a single serving size.  This yogurt was delicious – sweet and creamy and apparently too good to be true.

Or at least that’s what the NuVal score told me.

050
See the 24 to the right of the price.  One a scale of 1 (bad) to 100 (good), a 24 is not what I pictured for fat-free yogurt.

Horrified, I scooted down the yogurt line.

049

A 100?!?! How could it be possi…..? 

Sugar.  I had totally been ignoring the sugar content of my yogurt.  The yogurt with a NuVal score of 24 – 25 grams of sugar per serving.  The winning yogurt with a NuVal score of 100 – 13 grams per serving.

What a difference this score made.  Reading and comparing nutritional content in a timely manner is intimidating!  Nick is thankful we don’t have to spend multiple minutes trying to select one item anymore.  NuVal – thank you for saving our relationship and personal sanity.

It took me a while to get used to looking for the scores on the price tags.  Honestly, if you aren’t looking for them, you won’t noticed them.  Though, there are very nice standup marketing collateral pieces for NuVal at United.  Hopefully people are using this great tool when shopping – it makes nutritional comparison easy to master.

Have you seen NuVal or another rating system in your grocery store?  What do you think about using it as a comparison tool?

