On a rainy afternoon I make a quick trip to the grocery store for leeks and only leeks.

But somehow extra items always find their way into my basket.

DSC03738 
– Leeks
– Naners
– Kiwis
– Lemons
– Peaches
– Spinach
– Strawberries
– Veggie Sticks ( so good!)
– Grapefruit La Croix

I’m all set for Independence Day.

In honor of our country accepting all nationalities with open arms, I made Lentil Dahl for dinner.

I used Jenna’s recipe, and it was perfect.  So smoky with a hint of spice.

DSC03753 
Ingredients from Jenna –

Simple Red Lentil Dahl
Serves 1 or 2

1/2 cup red lentils
2 cups water
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp cumin seeds
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp garam masala
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp sea salt

The only change I made was to substitute 1 T. canola oil + a sprinkling of coconut for the coconut oil.

I had a Black Bean Brownie for dessert that the lovely Sonia made!

DSC03755
Sonia – these are awesome!  The chocolate flavor is so dense and rich. 

I had my first blogger meet-up with Sonia today at J&B’s.  It was great to sit down and talk about blogs, food and life!  Naturally, we ended up at the grocery store across the street before it all was over.

I made a leek run to the grocery store because I have about 80% talked myself into the 48-hour Leek Soup Detox

If you have every skimmed through French Women Don’t Get Fat, you know what I’m talking about.  Basically I would make a simple leek stock, drink the juice every 2-3 hours and eat the leeks at meals.  For 48 hours.

I feel like I’ve been eating junk the last couple of weeks – even though I was eating vegetarian.  Desserts, candy, handfuls of Kashi GoLean…it all adds up.

Have you ever detoxed before?

