Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday, with a day off, I tried the leek soup detox.

I have no photos – they would have just consisted of leeks cooked in a big pot of water for 35 minutes.  Leeks removed from broth, shredded and covered with EVOO, lemon and a tad bit of salt.  Broth stored for torture.

I wrote down a timeline to remember the experience.

9:30 a.m. – Awake – I need coffee…do not care if it is not on the suggested food list.

11:30 a.m. – Coffee and Kathie Lee & Hoda down, I venture to the kitchen and make my entire days worth of sustenance.

Noon – First cup of broth and bowl of leeks completed.  Not too hungry – actually feel pretty full.  Not interested in anything with an onion smell by this point.

2:30 p.m. – After a trip to the mall, I am ravenous.  I heat up another cup of broth, and its faint onion taste gives me the creeps.  I cannot stand the thought of eating a leek.  I panic.

2:45 p.m. – I have been drinking water the entire day…I’m probably on 45 oz. by now.  Trying to settle my hunger, I chug more water.  Water, leek broth and leeks – how do people do this?

3:30 p.m. – I bite into a Veggie Burger from a local restaurant, Bless Your Heart.  Best first bite of food I think I’ve ever had.

So, no.  The Leek Detox did not work for me, but that’s not to say it will not work for others.  I definitely am not labeling myself as a “quitter,” either.  I was so hungry and a headache was setting in.  I knew that for everyone’s sake, I needed to eat.

My poor Mom witnessed all the above events.  I think she thinks I’m crazy.  I’m glad I tried the detox – new experiences shape life.  I reaffirmed what I always thought – I thrive on a healthy breakfast full of protein, whole carbs and fat.

I’m glad I got to have lunch on a Monday with my Mom, though.  Being that she lives three hours away, lunch dates do not happen often!  Look at the amazing gift she gave me!

DSC03774

I complain about my aging George, and a new one appears!  With a waffle iron! Dreams do come true.

I’m not planning anymore detox’s.  But, I could do without these guys staring me in the face.

DSC03771 
Out-of-place, but…..

Dinner tonight:

DSC03773
Honey-Mustard seared Salmon, finished in the oven.  Romaine Salad with Cucumber-Feta Mix.

Unpictured small bowl of Kashi + Strawberries.

Loving that tomorrow is Wednesday! Countdown to South Carolina beach house – THREE days!

