Tags

Do you ever find yourself lazy the most when there is more to be done?

Like last night, when I needed to clean, organize my possessions, finish laundry, and bake cookies for charity, all I could muster up the strength to accomplish was finishing a book.

I did run to Walmart after work – that took some serious concentration.

I needed eggs for the cookies, a sprinkler to keep my yard green and a six-pack of Dos Equis for good measure.

I was in-and-out of the Madhouse in 20 minutes, home by 5:30 p.m. and reading my book by 5:32 p.m.

But, when I looked up at 9:30 p.m. after turning the last page, I immediately realized I had forgot to put the eggs in the refrigerator. 

Don’t worry – the Dos Equis was nice and chilled.  Apparently I can run through the motions a little better with beer than eggs.

A quick trip to the grocery store, and I was set to make some tasty cookies…at 10 p.m.  Add a good amount of nerves because the book was a little on the odd side, and you’ve got a skittish, tired baker.  At least I know the cookies were good.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies
(makes 2.5 dozen big cookies)
I’m not sure who I got this recipe from, but I can recite it from memory so I’m calling it my own.
.25 cup butter
.5 cup unsweetened applesauce
1.5 t. vanilla
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
.5 cup brown sugar
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats
.75 t. baking soda
dash of salt
.75 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350*.  Mix butter, applesauce, vanilla, eggs and sugar together until blended.  Add flour, oats, baking soda and salt and stir together.  Fold in chocolate chips. Drop dough onto lined, greased cookie sheets a couple T. at a time. Bake for 14 minutes.

The applesauce is a great butter substitute in this recipe.  You wouldn’t know these moist, soft cookies had applesauce in them until I told you.  There goes my secret.  The cookies could probably do without a full cup of sugar, too.  They are pretty sweet, so a .5 cup might work.

So the book, Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger, was so engaging that I wasn’t going to accomplish much until I finished it.  Niffenegger is the author behind The Time Traveler’s Wife, which is my favorite book I’ve ever read.  Her Fearful Symmetry is her second major novel and has been out for almost a year.  I held off on reading it because honestly I didn’t think she could top it.  She didn’t top it, but I never compared this book to her first.  I thought I would be annoyed with the ghost storyline, but I wasn’t.  Strange enough, it seemed perfectly naturally to me.  So now I want to go to London and spend a full day exploring Highgate Cemetery.  I can’t wait to share this with someone when I’m asked where I want to go on my next vacation.

I fall in love with the way Niffenegger develops and describes.  She makes me want to read slowly and cherish words, while with other books I fly through by skimming subconsciously.

If you haven’t read either Her Fearful Symmetry or The Time Traveler’s Wife, I would suggest both.

What are your book recommendations for me?

