Yesterday before Nick scurried off to work, we made a quick run to the Appletree.  I’ve talked about their wonderful food before, but I’ve never posted a photo of the famous Cinnamon Roll. 

DSC03975

Bites are missing because Nick suggested we leave this monstrosity in my possession for the entirety of his 9-hour shift, but he had to have a few bites before he said goodbye.

Thanks, Nick.  I sent what was leftover back to work with him today.  It’s so good, I can’t be trusted to not take another bite. 

After playing cinnamon roll tug-o-war with Nick, I made my way down the street and purchased some zucchini from a neighbor with a street-side stand.

DSC03976
Four pounds of zucchini – I’m in heaven.  Oh the plans I have!

Yesterday was spent relaxing and catching up on stuff around the house.  I did venture on an outside run – my first in a long time!  The gym is so convenient that I hardly run outside, and yesterday I remembered how much tougher it is.  

With the West Texas heat, running outside is like running in a dry sauna.  Interesting to say the least.  Each time I caught a sprinkler in the corner of my eye, I had to restrain myself from running to it.

I did a run/walk routine for 35 minutes, and by the time I was finished I was swimming in sweat.

Plans for today:
Workout in the air-conditioned gym. 🙂
Grocery store for weekly supplies.
Wash the car.
My first trip to the recycling drop-off!

Breakfast this morning –
DSC03983
Oatmeal with a nectarine on top.
1/2 oats
1/2 almond milk
.5 t. baking powder
.5 t. vanilla

Mix ingredients together and microwave for 3 minutes.  I sliced the nectarine, added it to the top and microwaved for another 30 seconds.  This almost tasted like a peach cobbler.  The oatmeal is very dense like bread pudding because of the smaller amount of liquid than usual. 

