Tags

, , , ,

Sunday I dropped off recycling items for the first time!

DSC03986
Milo really wanted to come along for the ride, but at the last minute she held back and claimed her spot in front of the window.

This is about three weeks worth of glass and plastic bottles and aluminum cans.  I had some paper products also, but it turns out only computer paper and newspapers are accepted at my recycling drop-off location.  I was bummed – I know my Kashi cereal and snack bar boxes wanted a second life.

I wish we had curbside recycling, but at least the drop-off is on my way to work, the gym and the grocery store.  I should have no trouble recycling because this is the grand trio of my day-to-day life.

Another awesome trio?

DSC03992
Peach salsa, guacamole and Dos Equis.  All homemade.  Except the Dos Equis.

Shot-glass taco stand trick learned from a published author.  (Congrats, Caitlin!)

I was in a frugal mood Sunday, so I spent some time planning meals that would use up the contents of our fridge.   Per usual, I looked to my 1000+ Reader for suggestions, and up pops a post about fish tacos and mango salsa that I knew I had to recreate.

I basically had all of the ingredients except the fresh produce, which was happily purchased while  overwhelming the checker at the grocery store.  I think the poor kid thought I was purchasing a wad of plastic because I had about 15 small produce items all in their little plastic produce bags.  Can you recycle those?

DSC03989

Peach Salsa
3 peaches, chopped
2 T. cilantro, chopped
1 jalapeño, seeded, veins removed and chopped
juice of half a lime

Guacamole – Mom’s Recipe
2 large avocados
1 T. Worcestershire + more to your liking
juice of the other half of lime
 
Both of these are crowd-pleasers!  I love this guacamole.  It’s what I grew up with, and it’s smoky, spicy, tangy and so easy.  It’s a beautiful thing.

Served with fish and chicken, both which were already cooked and just leftover from previous meals, and stuffed into a corn tortilla with added purple cabbage.

In between recycling and cooking, I’ve been staring at these puppies.

DSC04013

DSC04015
Thank you, Zazzle.  The design was already on the website, but I added my own twist.  If you need business cards of any kind, I definitely recommend browsing their options!  I’m armed and ready to distribute these through the crowd at the Healthy Living Summit, which I can’t believe is less than two weeks away.

What’s your favorite guacamole recipe?

