Tags

, ,

Planning on an after work cardio/weights session, I drove myself to the gym, only to stay buckled into my seat in the parking lot.  You see, it was a dreary day here in West Texas, and when it’s a dreary day, I want to organize and cook.  I guess if I lived in Seattle,  I would have a spotless house and a full fridge.  Nick is planning the move to Seattle right about now.

I’m glad I listened to my body and didn’t force myself to walk into the gym.  When my heart is not fully into working out, my head and body seem to follow suit.  It’s not that I was too tired for the gym, but rather I was starving at 5 p.m. and couldn’t imagine getting through a workout while that ravenous.

I am still planning on going to the gym in a little bit, but I can’t say that with 100% assurance until I step on the treadmill.  I am in my workout clothes, though, which means I’m one step closer.

So I haven’t sweat yet today, but I have cooked!

DSC04281
After my around the world stint with lentils, I kind of forgot about them.  Until 5 p.m. when I wanted a fast-cook legume.

And gouda. I love that Wikipedia had this to say about lentils – “In rare cases the lentils are mixed with dairy cheese.”

Sorry Wikipedia, I think you’ve got that wrong.  Not rare.

I micro-melted a slice of gouda on top of my lentils.  Before I added the gouda I sprinkled some seasoning for the soul + salt on the lentils.

DSC04279 I foresee emptying you before winter is done.

If you have never cooked lentils before, you should know what you’re getting into.

I cooked 2 cups dry lentils with 5 cups water for about 40 minutes after bringing to a soft boil and got this.

DSC04276

DSC04277

This = a lot of lentils.

Lentils basically double in size, so just be prepared with a large pan.

I drizzled  1 t. olive oil over the okra  and with a quick grind of salt and pepper, they were ready to broil in the oven for 20 minutes.  Roasting vegetables and serving with ketchup is always a win-win situation.

Next on tonight’s to-do list and before the gym, I need to take care of this problem.

DSC04285
Yes, that would be HLS swag bag material + clothes not yet organized.  Good thing it’s a dreary day.

DSC04286 
My calcium levels think the Adora discs are a good thing, too.  So do my taste buds.

What’s your favorite cheese? 
If you can’t tell, I developed an obsession with gouda that I can’t seem to shake. 

