Tags

, ,

Math equation time!  Written in third person, of course.

If Kendall naps from 6:00 – 8:30 p.m. and has a midnight bed time, how many hours sleep will she get if she goes to 6 a.m. yoga?

If you guessed 8 hours of sleep, you win.  What you win, I don’t know.

For the second day in a row, I made it a point to listen to my body. After a long afternoon at work  I was tired, and with the weather acting weird (scorching hot Monday to slightly chilly today), I knew my body/sinuses were not happy.

Upon arrival from work, I promptly laid out on the couch to watch the RHONJ finale.  I only made it 10 minutes into the most drama-filled show ever.  You know I was tired.

My nap kind-of worked out amazingly, though.  Nick was working until 9 tonight, so I was on schedule to make a dinner that would be hot on the stove and not in plastic containers ready to warm up.

Baked Eggplant Parmigiana

DSC04302
Ingredients –
1 medium eggplant, sliced .3 inch (or smaller)
.25 cup breadcrumbs (I used Progresso Italian Style)
.25 t. onion powder
.25 t. garlic powder
.25 t. dried oregano
2 egg whites
1 t. olive oil

DSC04292 
Last night I peeled and sliced the eggplant and layered it in a dish, slightly salting between the layers, then refrigerated over night.  The salt brings the moisture out of the eggplant so it will bake up firmer.

DSC04294
Next mix the breadcrumbs, onion powder, garlic powder and oregano together.  Also, place the egg whites in a separate bowl.

DSC04298 
Coat the eggplant in egg, then breadcrumbs and place on a baking sheet lined with foil.  Before I started coating, I spread the 1 t. olive oil on the foil to make sure the eggplant wouldn’t stick.

I broiled the eggplant for about 20 minutes, flipping half-way through.  When it was brown and crispy, I topped half of the slices with shredded mozzarella and placed it back in the oven for 2-3 minutes.

*Note – You may want to cook this at 400* in your oven.  It has always taken a little longer to bake in mine, so I usually add a good amount of degrees to my baking temperature.

DSC04303 

DSC04304
Served with whole wheat spaghetti, tomato sauce and a side salad with Greek vinaigrette.

Math equation #2 – Probability of Kendall getting her butt to the 6 a.m. yoga class.

If her feline alarm clock wakes her up at 5:30 a.m., just like she’s done for the past two weeks – 80%.
If it’s cold and rainy out – 40%.
Just to see if morning yoga is something she likes – 100%.

Here’s to hoping my motivation is around at 5:30 a.m.

