Tags

, , ,

Confession – 6 a.m. yoga did not happen, but only because the class was actually cancelled!  Good thing I checked Lubbock Yoga’s website before going to sleep, because I would not have been a happy camper if I had arrived to an empty studio.

After I learned about canceled yoga, I planned to get up a little earlier than usual for some home yoga, but let’s be honest here.  Even at 6:30 a.m. I need group exercise or a hot yoga room to motivate myself.  I didn’t have either of those this morning, but I did have a cozy, warm bed.  Guess which side of the teeter-totter I landed on.

You can conclude from this post and yesterday’s post that I’m not sleep-deprived.  Naturally, the next step in conversation is breakfast.

One of my favorite quick breakfasts to make is an Oatmeal Pancake. Sadly, I did not come up with this recipe, but read it in a fitness magazine (Shape, Fitness, one of those?) when I was just getting into learning about healthy, alternative eating.  I saved the recipe on my phone in early 2009, and it’s been a favorite ever since.

DSC04267 
Ingredients:
.3 cup rolled oats
2 egg whites
1 T. peanut butter
1 t. cinnamon

That’s all, folks.  Amazing, right?

Stir the batter until the peanut butter combines with the other ingredients.  You will want the batter to be peanut butter lump free.

Pour into a heated non-stick skillet and use a spoon to spread the batter evenly.

Cook until the top bubbles and flip!

DSC04275
You can’t go wrong with this people.  I topped mine with a sliced peach.

Stats on oatmeal pancake – 231 calories, 10 fat grams, 39 carb grams, 7 fiber grams, 17 protein grams.

The oatmeal pancake is a beautiful combination of protein, fats & carb, and it’s a wonderful alternative to regular pancakes, which never seem to keep me full for more than 30 minutes.

Do you have any favorite “alternative” recipes?
Feel free to link back to them in the comments!

