Tags

, ,

I’ve mentioned before that I’m from a small town, but I just want to make sure I get my point across about how small.  Your probably thinking, “Oh, what…50,000 people or so?” Ehhh…not quite.

I graduated high school with a whole whopping 32 people. No, not 32 people in my row at graduation.  Thirty-two people total.

Throughout elementary, junior high and high school, my number of classmates stayed between 20 and 30, but there were a small group of us that experienced it all together. 

Playing Power Rangers at recess, learning to read and write, the embarrassing 5th grade “this is why your body is acting strange” video, mathematical equations, pep rallies, being forced to participate in athletics, eating tater tot casserole and Salisbury steaks on their respective Wednesday &Thursday glory days, that the world really doesn’t end at the city limits – yep, we experienced it all together.

powderpuff Powder Puff Football Circa 2005

palodurocanyon Senior Trip to Palo Duro Canyon.  Yeah, I know you’ve never heard of it.

numberone030 A seven-person cheerleading squad is perfect
for pomming out numbers and letters.

If you add up all of the time I’ve spent in school, time at the school cafeteria would make up the biggest chunk of the pie chart. Bus rides would be a high competitor, though. Even though the tater tot casserole was always too salty for me and the Salisbury steak could have used some real meat, one good experience did come out of those cafeteria days.

No Bake Cookies.

DSC04328

A lot of people I know have never heard of No Bake Cookies, and this needs to be changed.  No Bake Cookies are so easy and delicious! It’s definitely a recipe you should know by heart.

There are all different kinds of No Bake Cookie recipes out there, but I wanted to make one with healthy modifications.  I found the recipe used here on food.com in a post by ShaGun, but I have changed a few ingredients to suit my pantry. 

DSC04331
Healthy No Bake Cookies
Serves 12

3 T. non-fat milk
1/3 cup sugar
1 T. cocoa powder
2 t. vanilla
1/3 cup smooth peanut butter
1.5 T. ground flax seed
1 cup rolled oats

First, grab a cookie sheet and line it with wax paper.

Then, heat milk, sugar and cocoa powder in a sauce pan and stir until boiling.

Remove sauce pan from heat and add in vanilla and peanut butter.  Stir until dissolved.

Stir in ground flax and oats.

Drop about 2 T. of the mixture onto the cookie sheet.  If the mixture is still warm, pat the “cookies” slightly so the mixture will hold together better.

Refrigerate until set – About 30 minutes.

I individually wrapped mine and am storing them in the fridge.

Stats for one No Bake Cookie – 93 calories, 4 grams fat, 16 grams carbs, 2 grams fiber, 3 grams protein.

These cookies are a sweet, quick treat and a healthy dessert compared to a whole slice of chocolate cake.  Not saying whole slices of chocolate cake are bad, just not for every day use.

I’m thankful for the White Deer school cafeteria and their No Bake Cookies.  Also thankful for this white deer Main Street statue and my wonderful parents raising me in a small town. Gosh, they’re cute.

deerphoto

