This weekend we had date night at a local Italian restaurant – Stella’s.

009
We opted to sit on the patio because it was a beautiful night.  Stella’s is one of the more upscale restaurants in Lubbock, so it’s known to get busy on the weekends.  Thankfully, the patio was pretty quiet.

I had a glass of the house white and was pleasantly surprised of the fruity, crisp wine.

012 
The small Caesar salad was not as pleasantly received.  I wanted more lettuce! But then again, I’m used to eating salads out of mixing bowls.

I ordered the dressing on the side, one of my normal requests. 

016 
I was so looking forward to the bread, but it was also disappointing.  I swear I’m not usually such a tough critic, but I’ve had Stella’s bread many a time before (I worked as a hostess at the restaurant in college) and it was always warm with a thick crust.  Not so much this time.

020 
We order a large pizza as our entree.  One side was margharita and the other was Chicken Santa Fe (alfredo as the base, with chicken green chilies and mozzarella on top).  I had a slice of the margharita, which was wonderful!  This pizza makes the restaurant.  Even though they serve a more upscale menu, the pizza beats the steak/seafood entrees every time.

024
Big Gulp, where did you come from?

It took trips to three different 7-11s to find a slurpee machine in order, but it was worth it!  A trip to the drive-in calls for a slurpee.

026 
Yup, we went to the drive-in! Watching The Switch in the bed of a pick-up sounds wonderfully country, doesn’t it?  Our set up included two blankets and a few pillows, but my butt still was numb halfway through the movie.  At least some time was spent outdoors!

The movie was okay.  I’d give it a 3/5.  The best part was the little boy, who was absolutely adorable.

Wine, pizza, slurpees and the drive-in?! So random, I know.

