Even though I live in a treeless dustbowl, we have a pretty awesome weekend market.

031
The Downtown Art Market happens the second Saturday of each month.

032 
Why are mini pumpkins so cute?  I wanted to buy two dozen to decorate with…

which didn’t happen.

035 
Why the market is awesome – free samples.

This was a “Texas Caviar” bean salad – chickpeas, black-eyed peas, corn, peppers, onions and cilantro. Honestly, I didn’t love it.  It needed something.

042
This might be the ugliest photo of all time, but I had to share it.  My most exciting purchase at the market was this butternut squash for $1. Score. I’ve never even cooked with butternut squash! I need ideas…

The local food bank was selling produce from their farm, like the butternut squash.  Other produce purchased – baby okra, eggplant and zucchini.

I also bought some Jalapeño Peach Jam and didn’t take its portrait.  Picture a Mason jar with pale peach and pepper seed contents.  Sounds gross, but it is actually great! 

A few artist had booths, but I was only in a food mood.  I did pick up a few business cards for Etsy shop stalking, though.

Any ideas what I should do with the butternut squash?

