Tags

,

Are you familiar with the term “upside down dinner?” Do you take your love for breakfast so far that you eat it for lunch and dinner, too?  Oatmeal for breakfast, egg burrito for lunch and a cinnamon roll for dinner?  Yes, please. Meal planning victory.

Okay, so maybe just a cinnamon roll isn’t the best choice.  I think some breakfast foods are viewed as insufficient staying-power calories.  It is true that the only pancake that will keep me satisfied for more than an hour is of the oatmeal type

So you want breakfast for dinner?  My suggestion – load up the vegetables.

016 
First you start with 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese.

Oh my bad.  That’s sweet potatoes, nuked in the microwave for three minutes (skin on), cooled and shredded. 

So we’re making Sweet Potato Hash Brown Cakes.

Mixture:
2 cups shredded sweet potato (1.5 hefty potatoes)
.5 t. chili powder
.5 t. cinnamon
dash of salt 

I used a little more than the measurements for the chili powder and cinnamon, but mine were quite spicy.  I would just season to taste.

018 
Form patties. Blurry, I know, but you get the idea.

026 
I fried the cakes in about a teaspoon of olive oil.  Cook on medium-high for a few minutes, carefully flip and continue the medium-high heat for another few minutes.  This will create the crunchy outside shell.  After this, turn the heat down to in between low/medium for 5 minutes or so, which will cook the potato through.

Remember to only flip once! These will have a tendency to fall apart, but that’s okay.

038
Breakfast for dinner – 1 egg, 2 egg whites with Tabasco, okra fries (cooked in oven for 15 minutes at 450* with a touch of olive oil/salt/pepper) dipped in ketchup, and the sweet potato hash brown cakes, drizzled in maple syrup.

040 
Apparently my creativity ceased after shredding the sweet potatoes, but I would try adding in: ground flax seed, nut butter or bell peppers.  Probably not all at once.

We had a mouse scare this week in the pantry.  Thankfully, a glue trap was successful in catching the culprit, and no more sightings have occurred.

015
Instead of buying glue traps, I think I need to invest in a Kitty Mouse Catching Class.

Ridiculous.

